Skip to content

Heart Beaten….

August 10, 2013

Well, it took a really long time, but it’s finally out on iOS, we launched the game this morning…by launched I mean, released it at $0.99 when it was intended to be free…no doubt this will give all the download figures a large bout of gangrene…but it doesn’t matter because the game can’t actually make any profit anyway (I sincerely hope no one paid for it, if they did I owe them a beer, or whatever % of a beer 70% or $0.99 gets you…).

We are so busy working on tiny dice dungeon that we clearly shouldn’t have taken the time to launch this, however I got one of those apple emails “If you do not upload a binary for your app by 02 August 2013 (Pacific Time), it will be deleted from iTunes Connect. The app name will then be available for another developer to use.” Which means I can never use that app name again (see how clearly that is mentioned in the description)…so I set about getting it working the other day only to get hit by a huge last minute engine bug, which Chiny and I fixed at some late hour of the eveing…we have also finished it on PSM hurrah….where it will actually cost you $0.40 when we eventually release it…no doubt huge riches await with that price point, and the popular entertainment theme of punching a semi realistic open heart repeatedly.

Anyway so I am slowly being pulled into the corporate world, I have gone to the bank to set up an account for my company, which I failed to do, and now have a pile of forms on my desk collecting dust, which means all the “expenses” continue to come out of my personal account, which while not particularly different means that I can’t get sertain benefits that come with spending money through a company(ie it’s an expense and not just me spening money)

We applied for Nintendo developer status recently, I hope it comes through soon so we can order some dev-kits and start making proper console games! The way I see it is that Android /iOS are so saturated that we have zero chance of success without a publisher, but consoles are a lot more untapped, so once we start launching games on empty marketplaces (like the Wii-U) we stand to get some OK numbers, no doubt if you are any kind of normal company with larger overheads etc it isn’t worth it, but for us it should be OK, plus selfishly it’s just a lot of fun. Which brings me to my next point, having a real “company” is intended to be a serious affair, I just love making games, I only have a company because I needed one to work with the tiny dice dungeon publisher…my main goal in all of this is just to make games, if we make money, then we will spend most (if not all) of it on making more games! Essentially, it’s hard for me to not get excited by things that are cool regardless of whether they have the potential to generate profit (ie Heart Beaten)….so I find myself a little torn between just having fun and making games (which would be considered a hobby by anyone who has any sanity about business) or being all corporate and thinking about strategies for making money. I really hope everything works out and we reach a spot where we can pretty much do what we want, and I guess that only comes from keeping our costs low to extend our operating lifespan until we start turning a profit.

I keep on saying we, it’s because “we” have a little office, and the company is no longer just me on my lonesome…while I am the only full time employee (although employee means I get paid…and I don’t get paid, so I guess Springloaded has no full time employees), Chiny is the primary programmer guy who deals with all the complex stuff I can’t do and teaches me things I don’t know about C# when I look confused, and Cindy has just joined as a designer / pixel artist. Before she started I didn’t know that she was into pixel art, but now I feel my art power diminishing every time she does something. It takes her half the time it takes me, and usually comes in at twice the quality…for example, my explosion in Atomic test pilot looks like a flower / crossed with a fried egg….while she managed to do some metal slug inspired piece that is just amazing! Finding like-minded people is really hard, and I am incredibly lucky to be working with these folks….

I was going to talk about starting a company in SG…I will some time soon, lus I will start giving out a few more details about the game…I really need to write more blogs!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

